Days 29 – 32: Jecheon

Knowing that Korea in the summer swings between two extremes – pouring rain, thanks to monsoon season, and hot and humid a la Satan’s armpits – I decided to book only four days in Jecheon. Turns out this summer wasn’t nearly as rainy as last year, but instead had a three week long heat wave… and yep, I was in Jecheon during that.

Let me tell y’all… I AM IN LOVE.

This area is stunning. I can’t wait to go back when the weather isn’t heinous. To be fair, I saw only a bit of this region, but I am excited to go and explore more when the weather and Covid19 aren’t awful.

Learn a bit about Jecheon at the city’s English website here.

Every day I was there the forecast was less than ideal. It wavered between 94F but feels like 110 due to heat and humidity and massive downpours with thunder and lightning thanks to monsoon season. I tried to time my outings to avoid both.

The AirBnB I stayed at had lovely hosts who spoke English in the house across the street. For friends in Korea reading this, they have two homes across the street from each other up for rent, and this would be a great place for two families to book and visit together if you’re looking for that sort of thing.

I was in this little village on the edge of Chungju Lake. Chungju Lake is the largest lake in Korea and was created by damming the river in 1985 to provide electricity. About 20 homes were in this little village and there were so many gardens all around. And beehive boxes and flowers! Apparently a lot of honey comes from this area. The photos in the slideshow below are from the homes in the village, and also a small hill overlooking the lake at sunset – totally worth the dozens of mosquito bites I got while standing there (yes, even with heavy duty bug spray).

I decided to take the cable car up to the top of Bibongsan mountain (531 meters elevation), because I sure as heck wasn’t hiking it in this heat.

Did I mention that I was VERY afraid of heights as a kid? There may have been an incident at the Hanna-Barbera Tower at Kings Dominion when I was about 7 years old where I discovered this fear. It’s gotten a lot better over the years, but still… cable cars are NOT my favorite thing. You know that sweaty palms, soles of your feet tingling like you hit your funny bone thing? I felt that the entirety of this trip up and down. I didn’t have anyone in the car with me to distract me, so enjoy my terrified babbling and rambling (and the gorgeous views) in this video.

The views from the top, though – totally worth it.

By the way, for those of you interested, here’s how going just about anywhere in Korea works during pandemic times: you either have to sign in on a sheet of paper or scan a personal QR code that is attached to your ID card/registered with the government, or if you go to a place with tons of people like Costco, an amusement park, or this cable car, you just call a number on your cell phone, wait for the automated voice to pick up and talk for 3 seconds then disconnect you. This way the government contact tracers can more easily notify you if you’ve been in close contact with others who turn out to have had Covid at that location, and tell you to go get screened. Super easy and simple.

Passed by lots of roadside goods shops featuring local products.

Another day I decided to try something new: valley hiking. I cannot remember how I stumbled across this gem, but I found this EASY hiking trail along a river running down a mountain with spots along it for folks to swim, chill, camp, etc. I parked near this bridge/pension (Naver map link for friends in Korea) and there were dozens of people already parked and in the water right near the bridge, lots of tents and camping going on. TONS of people. Really close by, without masks on… no thanks. Let’s hike it up the trail a few kilometers and away from people. I left my car at 8:15 am, trying to get a hike and swim in before the midday heat and the 2 pm thunderstorms. TIP: Go early. Go on a weekday if possible. This place is popular in the summer.

Honestly, this may have been my favorite day of the entire summer. I brought a book and just enjoyed the cold, fresh, running water and sounds of cicadas. Happened to meet a very nice couple hanging out at the same spot, too, and chatted with them in Korean for about 20 minutes (and of course, they gave me some of their food). Just an entirely lovely experience. 10/10 need to do some valley hiking in the summer again!

Scroll through the slideshow below to see what it looked like.

The last activity I did was take the ferry around the lake, a 90ish minute affair that departed from the sculpture park/ bungee park/ massive water fountain area. (Naver Map link for those who want to go, too.)

Life pro tip: If you’re gonna take a ferry and sit in the sun for 90 minutes on a hecking hot day, (1) wear sunscreen and a hat, and bring extra sunscreen, (2) Bring a big freaking bottle of cold water, and (3) bring a towel to sit on, because those plastic chairs will burn your legs. Luckily, I grew up with my mom and she beat preparedness into my brain taught me well.

And because I have lucked out with unreal sunsets during this vacation, here’s my last evening in Jecheon unedited sunset photo:

Jecheon, I can’t wait until we meet again.

Leave a comment